Music Technology Leadership Academy

Academy Interns

2017: TIME-OMEA in Cleveland

Donna Vickers: University of Arkansas; Nicole; Chopp: Northern Illinois University: Gage Thomas: University of Montevallo; Matt Pietrucha: Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Oilvia Dowd: Penn State; Nicole Marek: Michigan State University; Courtney Daniels: Rowan University; Ray Haim: College-Conservatory of Music, University of 

Cincinnati; Sean Gillen: Ithaca College; Shane Colquhoun: Auburn University; Camilo Leal: University of Florida

2016: TIME-TMEA in San Antonio

Melisa Baena: SUNY Potsdam; Shirley-Ann Belleus: Ithaca College; Lauren Ceccarelli: University of Massachusetts-Lowell; Quincy Chandler: SUNY Potsdam; Jacob Fortman: Michigan State University; Amber Hodges: Colorado State University; Christopher Jackson: University of Massachusetts-Lowell; Stephanie Lane: Colorado State University; Angela Lau: New York University; Karissa Longo: Michigan State University; Kristen Morrison: University of Valley Forge;Marci Rose: Ithaca College. 

2015: TIME-TMEA in San Antonio

Ryan Bledsoe: Arizona State University; Tyler Cano: Arizona State University; Gillian Desmarais: University of Massachussetts-Amherst; Jamie Ehrenfeld: New York University; Aaron Goodyke: Hope College; Vincent Jackson: University of Arizona; Noah Karvelis: Univeristy of Illinois; Kailimi Li: University of Massachussetts-Amherst; Andrew Liu: SUNY- Fredonia; Michael Nowotarski: Ithaca College; Ryan Parks: University of Delaware; Joseph Pondaco: Boston University; Sunhwa Reiner: Ithaca College; Melanie Richardson: Univ. of Cincinnati; Jarritt Sheel: Teachers College; Matthew Tichy: SUNY- Potsdam

2014: TI:ME-TMEA in San Antonio

Candice Davenport: University of Miami; Donna Janowski: Arizona State; Sarah Joncas: University of Massachussetts-Amherst; Luke Manas: CUNY Queens College; Crystal Pelham: Colorado State University; Holly Riley: University of North Carolina Greensboro; Rachel Rivard: University of Massachussetts-Amherst; Gabriel Schott: University of Northern Iowa; Amanda Siwek: Ohio University; Erin Stringer: Ithaca College; Michael Werni: Wisconsin Lutheran College

What is it? The Music Technology Leadership Academy (MTLA) is designed to provide a highly select group of music education students the opportunity to immerse themselves in studying instructional strategies for using music technology to reach students in secondary schools who are non-participants in traditional music ensembles.   The strategy and philosophy of this initiative is aligned with the website and its focus on using technology to reach “The Other 80%” in secondary school music.


  • Four-day event embedded around the TI:ME/TMEA music education conference starting on Wednesday evening.
  • Participant-only training sessions on technology tools, strategies, and research related to non-traditional music students (NTMs).
  • Attendance of conference sessions related to music technology and its application to instructional settings.
  • Social networking times for participants to share experiences.
  • Final capstone project tailored to NTM classroom lesson plans.
  • Follow up activities after the Academy experience


This project provides several unique experiences in support of music making, learning, and teaching.  The MLTA program offers:

  • A unique format for blending music technology study within a conference setting, thus giving student interns not only insights from the MTLA instructors but from music education and the music industry at large.  
  • An opportunity for student interns—chosen competitively from diverse music education programs across the nation—to network with their student colleagues as well as conference presenters and attendees.  
  • Training on instructional strategies for using technology to reach a critical student population within secondary music education, the nationally estimated 80 percent of students who do not participate in traditional music ensembles.


  • The MTLA concept was designed by Richard Dammers and David B. Williams and first offered with NAMM and TMEA support in Louisville, KY (January 2012) in conjunction with the TI:ME/Jazz Educators Network Conference: Eight interns selected. NAMM and TMEA support continued.  Instructors: David B. Williams (Illinois State University), Richard Dammers (Rowan University), and V.J. Manzo (Worcester Polytechnic Institute)
  • San Antonio, TX (February 2014) with the TI:ME/TMEA Conference: Eleven interns selected. NAMM and TMEA support continued.  Instructors: Same as 2012. 
  • San Antonio, TX (February 2015) with the TI:ME/TMEA Conference: Sixteen interns selected. NAMM and TMEA support continued.  Instructors:  added Dr. William Bauer (University of Florida) to the instructional staff. San Antonio, TX (February 2016) with the TI:ME/TMEA Conference. Twelve interns participated in the Academy’s 5th year on February 10th.
  • Cleveland, OH (February 2017) with the TI:ME/OMEA Conference.  Twelve interns participated for the Academy’s 6th year on February 1st.  Same instructional staff.
  • San Antonio (February 2018) back with TI:ME/TMEA Conference.
All original materials on site are Copyright © 2009-2017  by David Brian Williams & Rick Dammers.  All rights reserved. 
Website design and administration by d.b. williams